Canvas is currently offline due to an ongoing Amazon Web Services (AWS) technical outage. Other websites and databases might also be unavailable until this issue is resolved.
Break up sentences and long phrases into separate search terms. Write down initial search term ideas. Add to this list as you search and encounter other potential search terms.
You can use a brainstorming tool to discover connections between terms, develop a list of keywords, and find new topics to explore. We recommend CREDO Reference Mind Map and GALE Topic Finder.
Combine your search terms with connecting terms called "Boolean operators."
Negating Boolean Operator: A search for peanut butter NOT jelly retrieves all results that refer to peanut butter and none of the results that refer to jelly.
Do some preliminary research on your topic. This can include searches in Crusader OneSearch, indexes, or even Google. You may end up needing to narrow or broaden your search quite a bit to find anything related to your topic. Or, if you have the option, you may want to revise your topic.
Focus on finding scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. Find these sources by searching within library databases or online indexes like Google Scholar and PubMed. Sources found in indexes are often behind a paywall. BAC Library can borrow any article you need from another institution through Interlibrary Loan.
Books are helpful for background information and familiarizing yourself with a topic. Articles provide more current information and typically address a very narrow piece of a topic. The scope of your topic will determine what types of sources are best.
There are several ways to keep track of your sources. You can...
Research is an iterative process. You will repeat each of these steps several times throughout your assignment. Each time, you will gain more knowledge and efficiency in your writing.
A guide to various research tools, resources, and best practices.
Access a curated list of resources and materials for your degree program.
Search more than 90% of the library's databases at once.
Access each of the library's subscribed databases.
Find out if the library has a specific journal in print or digital format.
Borrow books and articles for free from other institutions.
Search the library's catalog for print books.
A great place to start research. A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
1,700 full-text periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press award-winning Encyclopedias, Companions, and a selection of partner publishers scholarly works.
Routledge Handbooks Online is an invaluable educational resource bringing together the worlds leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research from Routledge.
This database holds the electronic versions of our Salem Press reference materials.
Writers Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively
Belmont Abbey College students, staff, and faculty have access to a paid account for Grammarly! Grammarly checks grammar, spelling, sentence structure, and even citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago.
Go to Grammarly.com and sign up using your BAC credentials. Next, simply accept your invitation to join Belmont Abbey College's institutional account.
Getting Started
A free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research
⭐ A free plug-in that allows you to store and organize citations as you find them on your personal computer. Zotero also allows you to create bibliographies in 20+ styles.
A free citation builder for MLA, APA, Chicago styles created by NC State Librarians.
A free citation builder for MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Can save or download bibliographies into Word.
