Break up sentences and long phrases into separate search terms. Write down initial search term ideas. Add to this list as you search and encounter other potential search terms.
You can use a brainstorming tool to discover connections between terms, develop a list of keywords, and find new topics to explore. We recommend CREDO Reference Mind Map and GALE Topic Finder.
Combine your search terms with connecting terms called "Boolean operators."
Negating Boolean Operator: A search for peanut butter NOT jelly retrieves all results that refer to peanut butter and none of the results that refer to jelly.
Do some preliminary research on your topic. This can include searches in Crusader OneSearch, indexes, or even Google. You may end up needing to narrow or broaden your search quite a bit to find anything related to your topic. Or, if you have the option, you may want to revise your topic.
Focus on finding scholarly and peer-reviewed sources. Find these sources by searching within library databases or online indexes like Google Scholar and PubMed. Sources found in indexes are often behind a paywall. BAC Library can borrow any article you need from another institution through Interlibrary Loan.
Books are helpful for background information and familiarizing yourself with a topic. Articles provide more current information and typically address a very narrow piece of a topic. The scope of your topic will determine what types of sources are best.
There are several ways to keep track of your sources. You can...
Research is an iterative process. You will repeat each of these steps several times throughout your assignment. Each time, you will gain more knowledge and efficiency in your writing.
A guide to various research tools, resources, and best practices.
Access a curated list of resources and materials for your degree program.
Search more than 90% of the library's databases at once.
Access each of the library's subscribed databases.
Find out if the library has a specific journal in print or digital format.
Borrow books and articles for free from other institutions.
Search the library's catalog for print books.
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Database of nursing and allied health journals
Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Essentials Collection draws together award-winning content that is curated to support students within their first two years of study.
provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals
Explains disorders, their symptoms, their diagnosis, and how doctors and medical students can prevent or treat them.
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
A great place to start research. A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Magazines and other publications covering many subject areas, including business, health, education, science and culture.
Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the worlds most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
Find pro/ con essays about social issues and newspaper articles.
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
