This broad survey introduces readers to the major themes, figures, traditions and theories in Western historical thought, tracing its evolution from biblical times to the present.
The philosophy of historiography examines our representations and knowledge of the past, the relation between evidence, inference, explanation and narrative.
A Companion to Global Historical Thought provides an overview of the development of historical thinking from the earliest times to the present, directly addressing issues of historiography in a globalized context.
Volume I of The Oxford History of Historical Writing offers essays by leading scholars on the development and history of the major traditions of historical writing, including the ancient Near East, Classical Greece and Rome, and East and South Asia from their origins until ca. AD 600.
Belmont Abbey College provides access to the New York Times website and app to current students, faculty, and staff. This includes:
-Unlimited access to NYTimes.com, podcasts, newsletters, multimedia, and live events
-Access to the NYT app
-Spanish and Chinese translations
-Access to archived articles between 1851-2002 (5 pdf downloads per day per user)
First-time Users
BAC's subscription is restricted to current BAC students, faculty, and staff and requires a one-time registration. You will use your BAC email address to register.
If you already have a paid New York Times subscription for basic digital access, you will need to cancel your account first before you can register your email.
Good news! As a benefit of being part of the Belmont Abbey community, you have free access to The New York Times News. And now, you can also enjoy New York Times Audio, a new iOS app filled with audio journalism and storytelling on a wide range of topics, from global events to delectable recipes. Activate your free News access today and download New York Times Audio to start listening!
American History offers a virtual library of American history for educators, students, and researchers of all ages. Includes primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, maps and graphs
The Iter Community facilitates and supports communication, collaboration, and digital project creation for research communities of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available mainly for use in high-school and university/college courses.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas.
PastPerfect Online brings millions of artifacts from museums, libraries, archives, and other organizations to you from around the world. You can search through hundreds of collections at once using Artifact Search.
The Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media uses digital media and computer technology to democratize history: to incorporate multiple voices, reach diverse audiences, and encourage popular participation in presenting and preserving the past.
The Internet Archive Wayback Machine is a service that allows people to visit archived versions of Web sites. Visitors to the Wayback Machine can type in a URL, select a date range, and then begin surfing on an archived version of the Web.
A great place to start research. A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the worlds most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
A Companion to Western Historical Thought (eBook) by 
A Companion to the Philosophy of History and Historiography by 
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Nature of Historiography by 
A Companion to Global Historical Thought by 
The Oxford History of Historical Writing, Vol.1
