Belmont Abbey College Library: Nursing: Nursing Resources

BAC Library Resources

BAC Research Guide

A guide to various research tools, resources, and best practices.

BAC Library Catalog

Search the library's catalog for print books.

Crusader OneSearch

Search more than 85% of the library's databases at once.

A-Z Database List

Access each of the library's subscribed databases.

JournalFinder

Find out if the library has a specific journal in print or digital format.

Interlibrary Loan

Borrow books and articles for free from other institutions.

Books on Reserve

Bioethics for Nurses by Alisha N. Mack; Charles C. Camosy
ISBN: 9780802878922
Calculating Drug Dosages by Sandra Luz Martinez, et al.
ISBN: 9781719641227
Essential Health Assessment by Janice Thompson
ISBN: 9781719642323
Fundamentals of Nursing by Judith M. Wilkinson, et al.
ISBN: 9780803676862

Advances in Nursing - Fundamental Patterns of Knowing in Nursing
1978 Barbara Carper

Professor Recommendations

Subject Databases

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews, a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society
Biological Science Database
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
BioOne Complete
BioOne Complete is an aggregation of 200+ independently published journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Database of nursing and allied health journals
CREDO Nursing & Allied Health Essentials
Credo's Nursing and Allied Health Essentials Collection draws together award-winning content that is curated to support students within their first two years of study.
Ebook Nursing Collection
Ebook Nursing Collection contains clinical guides and evidence-based practice manuals, to practical handbooks and professional growth titles
EBSCOhost Health Source Plus: Nursing & Academic Edition
provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed
Films on Demand: Health and Medical Collection
Over 5000 videos or video segments dealing with Health and wellness
Films on Demand: Nursing - Current Concepts and Practices Collection
Current Concepts and Practices Video Collection is a tightly curated collection to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system_
Health & Medical Collection
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
(HaPI) is comprised of bibliographic information for peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.
Healthcare Administration Database
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
Health Source Academic Collection
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals
Liebert Nursing Collection
Peer-reviewed journals, books, and trade publications in cutting-edge fields such as biotechnology and regenerative medicine, biomedical research, medicine, and more
Merck Manual Professional Version
Explains disorders, their symptoms, their diagnosis, and how doctors and medical students can prevent or treat them.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks
Straightforward and authoritative eBooks on consumer health topics.
Public Health Database
This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.
PubMed
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLMs extensive print journal collection.
Social Science Premium Collection (1914 - current) information
Search across a range of ProQuest's specialist index and full-text social sciences databases, covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice

Internet Resources

Becker's Health IT & CIO Report
Published by Scott Becker, JD, CPA, who provides counsel to a variety of businesses within the health care field, Beckers Health IT & CIO Review is a comprehensive site that covers a wide number of topics. In addition to the online publication, Becker’s offers a complimentary monthly print subscription as well. Readers can find content broken down by medium, from webinars and whitepapers to multimedia, ebooks, lists, conferences and more.
HealthIT Analytics
World Health Organization
WHO began when our Constitution came into force on 7 April 1948 – a date we now celebrate every year as World Health Day. We are now more than 7000 people from more than 150 countries working in 150 country offices, in 6 regional offices and at our headquarters in Geneva.

Featured Journals

The National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly

Keywords & Subject Headings

MeSH on Demand is a tool that can automatically identify relevant MeSH terms from text such as an abstract or grant summary. MeSH on Demand finds key terms that can help jump-start your research in PubMed and related databases.

General Databases

CQ Researcher
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
CREDO Reference
A great place to start research. A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
JSTOR
Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.
MasterFILE Premier
Magazines and other publications covering many subject areas, including business, health, education, science and culture.
Project Muse Humanities Collection
Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the worlds most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Central
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Find pro/ con essays about social issues and newspaper articles.
SpringerLink
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.