History

Our mission is and will always be to make Afternoon Map the number one Ottoman/Turkish/Middle Eastern/Balkan cartography blog on the internet by bringing you a range of original, visually appealing and intellectually engaging maps harvested from archives and libraries around the world.

Historic maps of London from before 1800 and maps from the 19th-century series of the Ordnance Survey, including the complete 1:10,560 series and selected areas of the 1:2,500 maps. The Ordnance Survey maps can searched by keyword, title or postcode.

The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 35 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, wall maps, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from around 1550 to the present.

A cartographic project aiming to put the world on the map for a better understanding of the reality. News, stories, historical facts, geopolitical challenges, cultural issues... All on the maps! - Home page

MapMaker Interactive allows you to choose from a variety of base maps depending on the information you want to display on your map.

At National Geographic, we know the value of a good map when you're ready for adventure, so we've brought together the best world maps and globes for you to use when you travel, or even when you're safe and sound at home.

OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 400.000 maps. This is only thanks to the archives and libraries that were open to the idea and provided their online content.

Early maps are complex and richly textured documents that constitute a crucial element of our modern cultural heritage. We can use them to trace humanity’s spatial histories, from engagements with nature to modern globalization. By studying their production, we can comprehend how art, technology, faith, and science intertwine in the human experience. By exploring how they have variously been used, we can develop a social history of culture. The study of maps thus encompasses and integrates the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Their study offers such compelling insights that anyone can enjoy and learn from them. - About page

PAT is a portable atlas. It does what a traditional paper atlas does, but interactively: you can list country information using the included World Factbook ("list australia"), and draw world and country maps with the included World Databank of coastlines, rivers, and political and other boundaries ("select france; add france, fill white"). PAT is designed for the beginning user and its self-documenting command language ("add ?") is as simple and direct as possible (do "help"). - About page

Before email, faculty meetings, international colloquia, and professional associations, the world of scholarship relied on its own networks: networks of correspondence that stretched across countries and continents; the social networks created by scientific academies; and the physical networks brought about by travel. These networks were the lifelines of learning, from the age of Erasmus to the age of Franklin. They facilitated the dissemination&emdash;and the criticism&emdash;of ideas, the spread of political news, as well as the circulation of people and objects.

But what did these networks actually look like? Were they as extensive as we are led to believe? How did they evolve over time? Mapping the Republic of Letters, in collaboration with international partners, seeks to answer these and other questions through the development of sophisticated, interactive visualization tools. It also aims to create a repository for metadata on early-modern scholarship, and guidelines for future data capture.

Maps on this server are presented as they were originally published. The original publisher/source and date of the maps are provided on our web pages.